The Good, The Bad, and Tulip Time

 Image

 

Every year, my town, Holland, has Tulip Time, where tons of people come from out of town to tour around Holland, sometimes on a special bus. It takes 30 minutes to go right down the road a couple of blacks and 15 minutes to get back to your house because of traffic. It’s great. There’s a carnival, a parade,  fireworks for the Tulip Time kickoff, dutch dancers, because Holland is a dutch city, an arts and crafts show, which my little sister is absolutely in love with and many, many other exciting things. It’s a great time of year, everyone is pumped and happy. Just like every other holiday or seasons or whatever, there’s good things, and there’s bad things.

My favorite thing about Tulip Time is all the beautiful tulips, the carnival, fireworks, how everyone is usually in a great mood and especially every year when you walk outside of around downtown, the wind blows the smell of candy, elephant ears, popcorn and pizza right into your face. After you eat, you decide to go to fair and have fun for hours on end, you’re feeling pumped just thinking about it. You ride a couple of really awesome rides that spin and flip and turn. 

Then you get on that one ride that makes you feel like you are going to throw all of that amazing food up when you get off of it. You sit at the table for half an hour because your stomach hurts so bad, no rides, and you try to eat. It helps a little bit, but the food cost so much that that’s all you could buy. This happened to me last weekend. Water helped too, but eventually, my friend ran out of that also. Never eat cotton candy with a stomach ache. It does not help at all. It makes it hurt. Too much sugar all at once. 

Also, people try to look good for a fair. There are rides that go way up in the sky and twist and mess up your hair that you spent 45 minutes on and if you are wearing shorts, you are going to freeze on the ferris wheel, so you end up asking yourself “Why I put makeup on?” and sometimes later on you will also yourself “How do I smell like outdoors? I put perfume on!” Instead, you will smell like you rolled around in mud. I’m not saying I don’t like outdoors, in fact, I love the outdoors, but I don’t like that girls, and sometimes guys, look like they are going to a club for something that’s outside, where they will get smelly and their breath will smell like nachos later. It’s not worth the makeup or time. Go natural, then you don’t have to worry about your hair becoming a mess after hours of hard work.

Also, people are so pushy and it’s so crowded. When I went to fair, I accidently touched someones butt, it was a guy I knew from 8th grade that I didn’t really talk to or knew that well. I don’t like that it’s so crowded and people shove through you or push you to the side. You get touched in places that are uncomfortable and definitely not supposed to be touched. You wait in line for 30 minutes for a ride that last five minutes. There goes 35 minutes of your life down the drain.

Other than all of those terrible things that happen, it’s really great. It’s so beautiful. I have the most memories in summer, and Tulip Time is in May, so it’s warming up and becoming summer. Tulip Time is really emotional for me because of these memories I know that May isn’t summer, but I have a lot of memories at this time of year too. It makes me an emotional wreck on the inside, happy on the outside, but hey, as I go, I make new memories, new ones to miss later on, and then after I’m done being upset, I can smile and remember how far I’ve come from then. I used to not like the person I was, I was really bad. Now I hate to brag, but I’ve come a long way. I’m definitely a better person, a good person. My greatest goal in life is to spread that good around and make people smile and personally, I think I’ve been doing a pretty good job.

Leave a comment