She’s All Grown Up

Not long ago, it was my sisters sweet 16. April 24th actually. It was tons of fun, especially because we weren’t at home, and I got to help decorate the room. We went to this place called BAM. It’s a bowling alley, arcade, bar and restaurant. There were tons of people there for her, and even more that weren’t. It was really loud, and I had to take care of the Real Care baby, like the ones you get from school. I was really frustrated because I couldn’t hear when she was crying. After awhile, I calmed down and started having even more fun. 

No matter how much fun I was having I was always on the edge of tears.

I had to face the fact my sister wasn’t a little girl anymore. My childhood friend, my sister, was growing up. She wasn’t the same young girl I once knew. She wasn’t in to getting muddy anymore, and she was starting to like going on dates. She wasn’t going to be hanging around me anymore, even though I’m 14. She wasn’t going to be staying up with me all hours of the night like we used to. We wouldn’t be laughing so hard we could breathe anymore. I knew all these things wouldn’t be happening as much as they used to, though I was growing up too. Some of those things I didn’t want to do anymore either. I knew all of this before she was 16, but this is when it really hit me, when I knew I had to accept it. She was moving on from childhood. She had a boyfriend now, someone she had been with for over a year. She was enjoying the fact that some of her decorations were pink instead of green and blue. She didn’t mind, which was weird because pink used to be her most hated color. Now she didn’t mind? This was not the same girl I knew before. 

No matter how much I kept this in mind, her and I still had so much fun. We played games together, laser tag and everything. You could tell we were not only sisters, but best friends. This was something we hadn’t done in a while. We were so close, but somehow we separated. She was always with her boyfriend, or busy with school or something else. She doesn’t spend time with me the way we used to, and I’m trying to get used to it. In the end, it doesn’t matter to me. I love her all the same.

 It weird how fast time passes by, especially when you make your life worth living. Hold on the precious moments, don’t tell yourself that you wish you just grow up already. That’s not what you want. One day, you’ll look back and tell yourself “Wow, I wish I doing that again.” Time is so precious. It’s important. One of the most important things in the world. Don’t let those special moments slip by, and achieve your dreams before it’s too late.

Leave a comment